Greenbelt Information

The Utah Farmland Assessment Act
Uintah County

The Utah Farmland Assessment Act (FAA, also called the Greenbelt Act) allows qualifying agricultural property to be assessed and taxed based upon its productive capability instead of the prevailing market value. This unique method of assessment is vital to agricultural operations in close proximity to expanding urban areas, where taxing agricultural property at market value could make farming operations economically prohibitive.  

How is productive value determined?
Productive values are established by Utah State Tax Commission with the assistance of a five-member Farmland Assessment Advisory Committee and Utah State University. Productive values apply statewide and are based upon income and expense factors associated with agricultural activities. These factors are expressed in terms of value per acre for specific land classifications. 

How is land classified?
Land is classified according to its capability of producing crops or forage. Capability is dependent upon soil type, topography, availability of irrigation water, growing season, and other factors. The County Assessor classifies all agricultural land in the county based on Natural Resource Conservation Service Soil Surveys and guidelines provided by the Tax Commission. The general classifications of agricultural land are irrigated, dryland, grazing land, orchard and meadow. If you disagree with your land classification, you can appeal to your county board of equalization for re-classification.

What does it take to qualify?
Private farmland can qualify for assessment and taxation under the Farmland Assessment Act if the land:

  • is at least five contiguous acres in area. Land less than five acres may qualify where devoted to agricultural use in conjunction with other eligible acreage under identical legal ownership. Land used in connection with the farmhouse, such as landscaping etc. cannot be included in the acreage for FAA eligibility. 
  • is actively devoted to agricultural use, and the operation is managed in such a way that there is a reasonable expectation of profit;
  • has been devoted to agricultural use for at least two successive years immediately preceding the tax year in which application is made; and
  • meets average annual (per acre) production requirements. 
Production Requirements Defined
To qualify for the Farmland Assessment Act land must produce in excess of 50 percent of the average agricultural production per acre for the given type of land and the given county or area. To determine production levels the County Assessor will use the following sources: the most recent publication of Utah Agricultural Statistics; crop and enterprise budgets published by Utah State University; or standards established by the Tax Commission. Examples: (1) A farmer grows alfalfa. The average annual production of alfalfa in his area is four tons per year. To qualify he must produce more than two tons per acre per year. (2) A rancher has 10 acres of irrigated pasture, which would reasonably carry 10 cows or 50 sheep through the grazing season. To qualify he will need to graze more than five head of cattle or 25 sheep. 

The acreage requirement may be waived if the owner can show that 80 percent or more of the owner's, purchaser's, or lessee's income is derived from agricultural products produced on the land or failure to meet the five acre requirement arouse solely out of an eminent domain proceeding. 

The production requirement may be waived if the owner shows that the property has been in agricultural use for the previous two years and the failure to meet the production requirement in a particular year was due to no fault or act of the owner, purchaser, or lessee. 

The production requirement will be waived if the land is involved in a bonafide range improvement program, or other similarly accepted agricultural practice, which does not give reasonable opportunity to satisfy the production level requirement. 

Application Deadlines
New applications for the assessment and taxation under the Utah Farmland Assessment Act must be submitted by May 1 of the tax year in which assessment is requested. Applications necessary because of ownership change, legal description change, assessor request, etc., can be filed anytime.
How do I apply?
An application for assessment and taxation of agricultural land under the FAA can be obtained from your County Assessor. This application should be completed and returned to the County Assessor. Supporting documentation may be required such as federal tax returns, affidavits, lease agreements, sales receipts, production records etc. which show the production requirement has been met for the preceding two years. 

Who may apply?
Any owner of agricultural land may apply for assessment and taxation under the Farmland Assessment Act. 

Can leased land qualify?
Leased land can qualify for assessment and taxation under the FAA if the acreage requirement is met and the production requirement is satisfied. A purchaser or lessee may qualify the land by submitting, along with the application from the owner, documents certifying that the production levels have been satisfied. 

What happens when land is withdrawn from FAA?
When land becomes ineligible for farmland assessment (such as when it is developed or goes into non-use), the owner becomes subject to what is known as the rollback tax. The rollback tax is the difference between the taxes paid  while on greenbelt and the taxes which would have been paid had the property been assessed at market value. In determining the amount of rollback tax due, a maximum of five years preceding the change in use will be used. The tax rate for each of the years in question will be applied to determine the tax amount. 

Annual Valuation Changes
Each year the Utah State Tax Commission selects new values to be applied to qualifying parcels of land under the Farmland Assessment Act (FAA). The FAA values do not reflect real estate market values, but instead only the value the land has for agricultural production. 

The Tax Commission receives recommendations for FAA values from a committee with broad expertise and representation. 

The committee relies on research currently provided by the Applied Economics Department of Utah State University. A new report is furnished annually to the committee, along with a thorough presentation of current and past agricultural economic conditions. In order to lessen the impact of sometimes drastic economic changes from year to year, a five-year rolling average is used for expenses, prices, and crop yields. 

Land Classification Schedule
Uintah County Taxable Value
Per Acre by Classification
Type of Land 2023 Values 2024 Values
IV IRRIGATED $235 $259
I ORCHARD $311 $291
II ORCHARD $311 $291
III ORCHARD $311 $291
IV ORCHARD $311 $291
IV MEADOW $178 $196
III DRY $47 $52
IV DRY $16 $18
I GRAZE $69 $76
II GRAZE $24 $26
III GRAZE $16 $18
IV GRAZE $5 $6
NOTE: Zeros indicate that no agricultural land of that classification exists in the county. 

The table above represents agricultural use-value per acre in Uintah County for the various classes of agricultural property.